Medallion Award

Home What We Do > Awards > Medallion Award

Mel Narol Medallion Award
Recognizing Support for NASO
and its Mission to Support Sports Officials

The Mel Narol Medallion Award of the National Association of Sports Officials recognizes an individual or organization that has made significant contributions to NASO and, thus, supporting the betterment of sports officials and the officiating profession.

The Medallion Award is named after Mel Narol, longtime officiating legal advocate and NASO leader. Narol received the award posthumously in 2003 and the award was then renamed to honor him.

Selection Process

Members of the association may submit nomination letters to NASO headquarters. The NASO staff screens nominations and makes recommendations to the board of directors. The board of directors has final approval on the Medallion Award selection. The award need not be annual. More than one recipient may be awarded in any given year.


The award recognizes an individual or organization that has made significant contributions to the betterment of the National Association of Sports Officials (NASO).

Contributions might include, but are not limited to:

  • Organizational leadership
  • Education and training
  • Promotion of officiating and NASO
  • Sponsorship

The NASO Board of Directors selects the recipient.

The award can be made posthumously.


The Medallion Award was created in 2000 to “recognize an individual or organization that has made significant contributions to the betterment of sports officials and the officiating profession.” In 2007, the criteria was changed to emphasize contributions to NASO.

Recipients are:

2001 — Jerry Seeman, retired NFL senior director of officiating

2003 — Mel Narol (posthumously), the foremost authority on officiating legal issues

2004 — Fox 40 International, makers of the Fox 40 whistle

2005 — Dick Honig, owner of Honig’s Whistle Stop

2006 — Marcy Weston, retired national coordinator of NCAA women’s basketball officiating

2007 — Bill Kolbe, retired attorney, business and legal advisor for NASO

2008 — Ed T. Rush, retired NBA referee and supervisor of officials

2009 — Ronnie Carter, retired executive director for the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association

2010 — David Dodge, retired NCAA Division I men’s basketball official

2011 — Alan Goldberger, Sports law attorney and legal authority for game officials

2012 — Marriott Corporation, Longtime NASO partner and supporting organization to the officiating industry

2013 — Gary Whelchel, Commissioner of Officials for the Arizona Interscholastic Association.

2014 — California Basketball Officials Association (CBOA), More than 3,700 officials are members of the only statewide basketball officials association in the state, from youth to semi-pro competition

2015 — Patty Viverito, Senior associate commissioner of the Missouri Valley Conference (MVC)

2016 — Don Collins, Commissioner of the San Francisco Section of the California Interscholastic Federation (CIF) 

Choose your sport below




Do I have to pay extra for the MICP (Membership Information & Consultation Program)?

No! It is a part of your annual NASO dues. It is among the exciting benefits NASO provides members.

Do I receive further discounts through my NASO membership?

Yes. NASO members save 20% on all Referee Enterprises publications.

When does my coverage start?

Your benefits begin as soon as you’re registered as an NASO member in good standing and your dues payment is received by the NASO offices.